2008 Winners

2008 Winners

CTC Council announced the national and regional winners for the annual Volunteer of the Year Award at the CTC Annual Dinner and Prizegiving on 25th April at Queen Hotel in Chester.

Since their creation the awards have become the most prestigious awards in CTC. They celebrate the best of cycling – the people who make it happen at a local and regional level. Whether it’s organising the rides or fighting the cause of cyclists at the local council CTC’s volunteers are symbolic of the largest, most passionate group of cyclists in the country.

All the winners have already been recognised for their achievements by fellow CTC members, who nominated them as Volunteer of the Year for their region. Ten individual winners and two groups went forward for recognition as the CTC National Volunteer of the Year and Voluntary Group of the Year. Along with two groups for the new CTC Campaigning Achievement of the Year - the Gordon Selway Memorial Award.

The trophies and certificates were presented by the Parliamentary Under Secretary for Transport, Paul Clark.

If you weren’t able to make it to the CTC National Dinner and Awards Presentation in Chester you can download and read the speeches by both Parliamentary Under Secretary for Transport, Paul Clark and CTC Chair David Robinson below.